Zur Übersicht

Hugendubel

The End of the Ocean (Simon & Schuster UK Scribner UK)

13,49 €
inkl. gesetzl. Mwst.
Nur noch wenige verfügbar

Im Regensburg Arcaden:

Produktbeschreibung

Artikelnummer: 9781471175541
Autor/Verlag: Lunde, Maja

416 Seiten
von 2021
Sprache: Englisch
From the author of the number one international bestseller The History of Bees, a captivating new novel about the threat of a worldwide water shortage as seen through the eyes of a father and daughter.

'The story of a present-day Norwegian eco-campaigner alternates with that of a French family in the overheated future. They are in a camp for refugees from eco-disaster - but it's not all doom and gloom. They find friendship, love and an unexpected gift from the past' Wendy Holden, Daily Mail

2019: seventy-year-old Signe sets out on a hazardous voyage to cross an entire ocean in only a sailboat. She is haunted by the loss of the love of her life, and is driven by a singular and all-consuming mission to make it back to him.

2041: David flees with his young daughter, Lou, from a war-torn Southern Europe plagued by drought. They are on a desperate search to reunite with their family when they find Signe's abandoned sailboat in a parched French garden, miles away from the nearest shore.

As David and Lou discover personal effects from Signe's travels, their journey of survival and hope weaves together with Signe's, forming a heartbreaking, inspiring story about the power of nature and the human spirit.

Praise for The History of Bees:

'Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees' Good Housekeeping

'Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere' Stylist

'Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book' Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest

'Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the strengths of family' Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author

'Such is the genius of debut novelist

Person Lunde, Maja
Autor Lunde, Maja
Genre Fremdsprachig